Is Marijuana Legal In Florida?
Florida marijuana laws allow Florida residents the opportunity for medical marijuana use, but not recreational use. Releaf Medical has provided patients with everything they need to understand about Florida marijuana laws and Florida medical marijuana laws below. If a resident of the state of Florida would like to purchase and consume medical marijuana they must first be evaluated by a state certified physician and registered with the Medical Marijuana Use Registry. As of 2021 recreational marijuana use is still illegal in the state of Florida. Florida residents that consume marijuana recreationally could face criminal charges, and the consequences for those charges can be harsh! For Florida residents that possess a medical marijuana card marijuana consumption still has some restrictions. As an example, medical marijuana card holders may not operate a vehicle during or immediately after the consumption of a marijuana product. Releaf Medical will provide detailed information about the different restrictions and marijuana laws below. As well as some answers to common questions, such as, “is marijuana legal in Florida” and “are edibles legal in Florida.”
Florida Medical Marijuana Laws
Is marijuana legal in Florida? YES, but there are some basic Florida medical marijuana laws that all Releaf Medical patients should be aware of.
- Medical marijuana products may only be purchased by qualified patients from a state licensed medical marijuana dispensary. Purchases can be made by picking up the product at the dispensary or having the product delivered to a patient’s registered address.
- Qualified patients may use medical marijuana products at home or on private property. Public consumption of marijuana products is illegal, with the exception of low-THC cannabis.
- Patients can possess medical marijuana products in public, but not consume. Releaf Medical advises patients to avoid federal buildings and establishments that receive federal funding while in possession of medical marijuana products.
- Medical marijuana consumption is legal in the state of Florida, but remains illegal on a federal level. Qualified patients may not travel outside the state of Florida with any medical marijuana products.
- A patient’s certified marijuana doctor may order up to three 70 day supplies of medical marijuana within each 210 day certification.
- A patient’s certified marijuana doctor may order up to six 35 day supplies of medical marijuana in the smokable form within each 210 day certification.
- A 35 day order of smokable marijuana may not exceed 2.5 ounces.
- According to Florida medical marijuana laws patients are able to possess marijuana flower or buds, but it must be stored in a tamper proof container from a licensed dispensary. This container must be clearly marked and have the patients personal information displayed.
- Qualified medical marijuana patients may only possess up to 4 ounces of flower or bud at any given time.
- Sharing any medical marijuana product is technically illegal, even if the person a patient is sharing with also is a valid medical marijuana card holder.
- Patients are not able to medicate at their workplace, unless specifically permitted by their employer.
- Florida medical marijuana laws prohibit patients from medicating with marijuana products while operating a vehicle, aircraft, heavy machinery, boat, etc.
- Under Florida medical marijuana laws a qualified patient must present their Medical Marijuana Use Registry identification card to law enforcement when asked. Releaf Medical advises all of our patients to always keep this card on them at all times when transporting medical marijuana products.
- Florida medical marijuana laws require patients to continually meet the standards of qualification every 210 days. Patients must be re-evaluated by their marijuana doctor with an in person examination every 210 day or 7 months.
Are Edibles Legal In Florida?
Are edibles legal in Florida is one of the most common questions we receive at Releaf Medical. Yes, marijuana edibles are legal in the state of Florida as of August 2020. Below is the basic overview of the Florida marijuana laws for edibles.
- By Florida medical marijuana laws multi-serving marijuana edibles may not contain more than 200 milligrams of THC. A single serving marijuana edible portion may not exceed 10 milligrams of THC.
- Edibles may not be manufactured to attract children, produced similarly to any commercially available candy, or contain any color additives.
- Edible products must come packaged properly in tamper proof containers and can only be sold by licensed marijuana dispensaries.
- Under Florida medical marijuana laws the types of marijuana edibles available for purchase are, lozenges, gelatins, baked goods, chocolates, and drink powders.
Florida Marijuana Laws
Is recreational marijuana legal in Florida? NO, below are some of the Florida marijuana laws. These Florida marijuana laws are harsh, so every Florida resident in the state of Florida should get their medical marijuana card.
- Under Florida marijuana laws possession of 20 grams or less of marijuana is considered a misdemeanor and is punishable by a 1 year maximum sentence and a maximum fine of $1,000.
- Possession of over 20 grams of marijuana and over is considered a felony. Depending on the weight a person could face a prison sentence from 5 years to 30 years and a fine ranging from $5,000 to $200,000.
Sale & Delivery
- If a sale or delivery of marijuana takes place within 1,000 feet of a school, college, park or other specified areas under Florida marijuana laws this crime is a felony and is punishable by a maximum prison sentence of 15 years and a fine of up to $10,000.
- The sale or delivery of marijuana of 20 grams or less is a misdemeanor and is punishable by a 1 year maximum sentence and a maximum fine of $1,000.
- The sale or delivery of over 20 grams of marijuana and over is considered a felony. Depending on the weight a person could face a prison sentence from 5 years to 30 years and a fine ranging from $5,000 to $200,000.
Hash & Concentrates
- Possession of hashish and concentrates is considered a third degree felony under Florida marijuana laws. A third degree felony is punishable by a prison term of up to 5 years and a fine of up to $5,000.
- Under Florida law possessing more than 3 grams of hashish or concentrate, selling, delivering, manufacturing, possessing with the intent to sell, manufacture with the intent to deliver, is a third degree felony. A third degree felony is punishable by a prison term of up to 5 years and a fine of up to $5,000.
- Possession of marijuana paraphernalia is considered a misdemeanor and is punishable by a 1 year maximum sentence and a maximum fine of $1,000.
Releaf Medical Marijuana Doctors
Is marijuana legal in Florida, YES, but only for medical use. There are some Florida medical marijuana laws for patients to follow, but still make marijuana legal to possess and consume. With the current state of Florida marijuana laws the situation makes sense for Florida residents that consume marijuana products to get their medical marijuana card. The cost of attorneys and the legal repercussions will add up to much more than the cost of visiting a marijuana doctor. Plus nobody wants to risk their freedom, be smart and visit a Releaf Medical marijuana clinic today! Schedule an appointment for a medical marijuana card evaluation online or by calling 561-778-5323. No more grief, just relief!